Barnies Day Nurseries and Pre-schools


The Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage is the legal framework relating to establishments providing care and education for children from birth to 5 years. The document sets out the legal requirements for Learning, Development and Welfare. 

The Early Years Foundation Stage

It is divided into four themes which express important principles underpinning effective practice in the care, development and learning of young children:

  • A Unique Child
  • Postive Relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Development

The first five years of life are critical in a child’s development. High quality early years provision has been proven to help children achieve their potential and support parents and their families. The role of the Early Years Practitioner encompasses a wide range of aspects dedicated to enhance children’s experiences in a positive and supportive way.   

Children may experience a variety of establishments during this period depending on their individual abilities and parental preferences. They may attend on a full or part time basis and therefore it is important to promote partnerships by valuing and building on children’s previous learning. 

Barnies understands and promotes the statement “Parents are children’s first and most enduring educators.” and ensures that the parent’s involvement as part of the shared learning process plays a significant part in the welfare of children attending the setting. The continuing contribution of children’s parents is regarded as a special relationship in terms of shared educational aims so that the best developmental outcomes may be achieved for the children. 

Emphasis is particularly put on “play” with planned opportunity to learn through their play. Practitioners have a vital role in this learning process and need to draw on their understanding of care, teaching techniques and a knowledge of child development.

The EYFS Learning Goals and Educational Programmes

There are seven areas of learning:       

Three Prime Areas:                                                                             

  • Personal, Social and Emotional development (PSED)
  • Physical Development (PD)
  • Communication and Language (CL)

Four Specific Areas:

  • Literacy (L)
  • Mathematics (M)
  • Understanding the World (UW)
  • Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)

None of these areas of learning can be delivered in isolation from the others. They are equally important and depend on each other to support a rounded approach to child development. Emphasis on the value and use of play for the achievement of these areas is always the major factor when planning topics and activities. Through play in a secure environment with effective adult support the Unique Child will reach out to relate to people and things through the Characteristics of Effective Learning – Playing and Exploring, Active Learning and Creating and thinking Critically. We help them identify with their learning by the creative use of some special Dinosaurs.                                     

  • Explore, develop and represent learning experiences that help them to make sense of the world.
  • Practice and build on ideas, concepts and skills.
  • Learn how to control impulses and understand the need for rules.
  • Be alone, with others and cooperate through talking, rehearsing feelings.
  • Take risks and make mistakes.
  • Think creatively and imaginatively.
  • Communicate with others during investigation and solving problems.
  • Express fears and anxieties in controlled and safe situations.